top of page

All Humans Come Broken

I don’t know if you recall high-school health class, but all humans come from an egg. Period. It is a part of you. (Weird start to a life lesson, I know).

In order to become the walking, breathing, talking individuals that we are today – we must break that egg. So, in theory, all humans come pre-broken. There is not one person out there that does not have a crack, and yet, it is so hard to accept that being broken is okay. In fact, being broken was the biggest blessing that life ever gave you. You couldn’t love pizza if you were not broken. You could not see the sunset. You could not play, work, give, take or create if you were not broken out of the one thing holding you back from growing (literally).

So, let us take this a step further. If the only way to grow and flourish is to break out of the things holding you back:

then why hurt yourself any longer by sitting still?

I have spent too many years worrying about being wrong because I felt too broken. It felt like being broken was the wrong path, because no one else seemed to be broken like me. I was too independent, too uptight, too afraid of engaging with my fears. I wasted so much time and energy before I realized I was not wrong, I was different, and that is what made me feel wrong.

And, since that day, I want to do everything in my power to let every individual know:

You are not wrong for being different.

You have gotten to where you are today – a beautiful and unique individual – because of the times you have been broken. You could not possibly be as wise or as opinionated or as ambitious as you are today if you had not pushed past all of the things holding you back. So, I challenge you to look in the mirror today and ask yourself: “why am I unhappy, and how can I break that”.

This goes to the girl who does not care about hook-up culture and, for that, does not need to feel guilt. This goes to the guy who hangs around with others who bully him for expressing his emotions, but deserves better support. This goes out to those parents who don’t get a phone call every other week and worry that their child is slipping away, but don't know they raised one hell of a future family.


This is dedicated to anyone who has ever felt like they are different, and I am here to remind you that you are different, and you should be.


Jules

44 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page